HOME… Luke 15

I knew I had failed
I couldn’t be bailed 
To a faraway land I sailed 
My emptiness unveiled

I took it all, I squandered it 
My jewels, my wealth the dogs did eat 
Now alone in this foreign land 
No one offers a helping hand

I hunger, I thirst, 
While my lineage is awfully blessed 
Shall I die this way 
When ahead lies a better day?

I shall return
 I’m ashamed of what I have become 
Take off the crown from my head 
As long as my back’s laid on a bed

To my Father I return 
Receive me, for a slave I have become 
Put a hoe in my hand
 For the crown’s unfit for this scrubby head

Still walking in resistance 
He sights me from a distance
Then I see Him running
To me He is coming

Now I can hear him calling 
To my knees I go crawling 
His arms wide open 
His embrace is warm as an oven

And then He kissed me 
All my fears they leave me 
This is where I should be 
Greater than my soul’s plea

And then He says to one; “bring the Prince’s ring”
To another; “gather the musicians, a chorus to sing”!
And sandals for his feet
The fattest calf kill, that we might eat

For my son has returned home…

Lost but now found 
Forever with my father I’m bound 
Never to be alone 
Seated with my Father on the throne

…PaulinEzeka… August 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

