Head to my knees

Each day I passed by the river, I stopped to look at my reflection
My face was pale like all the blood in my body settled there.
I couldn’t say for sure if I was pretty and no one ever told me…
People passed by me and never even looked twice,
“You don’t exist.” The voice in my head would say.
I had no friends, family members barely came by…

I wondered what the sun looked like
I would give anything to see the stars
My eyes had fellowship with the ground
I longed to be part of life and living
I wanted friends, I wanted love, I wanted… Oh it doesn’t matter.

Today, I look into the river, and there’s a smile on my face
I feel a bubbling in my lower belly,
I liked the feeling. It spelled good.

I step into the place where they all gathered
I sense someone’s eyes are stayed on me… You know how you know when someone’s watching even though you can’t see them?
I thought I heard him call out to me
Then again, it must be one of my silly fantasies

Wait a minute, he did call out to me!
He called me by my name even my Father’s name! Who is this man? How does he know me?
I have come in and out of this place for 18years and no one, no one ever called out to me nor called me by name…

I don’t look up, and then he touched me.
He touched me and i knew right then that everything’s changed!
It felt like I had been loosed from a really tight bond… I felt free, can’t explain it really.

Instantly I straighten up, my shoulders tall… He looked into my eyes and he smiled… his eyes were the most beautiful I had ever seen!

My tears poured, never ending,
My hope,no longer pending
My joy overflowing
This miracle, mind blowing
I am so thankful
That of me Jesus is mindful

As I walk back home, I see everyone staring and praising,
Some walk up to give me a hug.
Two women even cry along with me,
This is really happening!

I run to the river, my only friend for all these 18 years… I look in, taken aback by my own reflection… she’s beautiful, the woman I see. I weep and I ask her; “Can you see the sun now?”
…………………………..

“On a Sabbath Jesus was teaching in one of the synagogues, and a woman was there who had been crippled by a spirit for eighteen years.
She was bent over and could not straighten up at all. When Jesus saw her, he called her forward and said to her, “Woman, you are set free from your infirmity.”
Then he put his hands on her, and immediately she straightened up and praised God.” Luke 13:10-13.

Paula Ezeka
August 15, 2015
7:34pm

 

Leave a Reply

